web analytics

About Us


Dr Todd Gray

Festival Chair

Dr Todd Gray MBE is a historian and Honorary Fellow at Exeter University.  He is the author of more than 45 books mainly on the history of Devon.


Dr Kate McCormick

Festival Director

Kate McCormick is an independent author and publisher who writes fiction and creative non-fiction under the pen name of Elizabeth Ducie.


Cathie Hartigan

Programme Coordinator

Cathie Hartigan is an author, musician, and founder of Creative Writing Matters.


Su Bristow


Su Bristow’s debut novel Sealskin won the first Exeter Novel Prize. She has also written two books on herbal medicine and one on relationship skills. She is a consultant medical herbalist, and currently Chair of Exeter Writers.


Karen Huxtable

Committee member

Senior Supervisor at Exeter Library, Karen has  been involved with hosting events for the last two Exeter Literary Festivals. 


Helen Chaloner

Committee member

Helen is Chief Executive of Literature Works, the regional literature development agency for South West England. After graduating from UEA with a BA in Comparative Literature and French she worked as a publishing PR in London. This was followed by five years as Deputy National Director and then National Director of Arvon, which is known for its residential creative writing courses. Helen is principal short story reader for the Bridport Prize.


Sharon Goble

Publicity Officer

Sharon has joined the Exeter Literary Festival committee this year to head up PR and publicity. Sharon is an experienced Communications Consultant who has worked in the media for more than 30 years, starting as a BBC radio reporter before moving to the West Country to work as a senior reporter and presenter for ITV. She set up her company, If… Media Ltd., a decade ago and writes extensively for print, broadcast and online, working with local businesses and charities.